Fiske Planetarium Presentation for Harvard Alumni and Guests: the Hubble Space Telescope turns 30!

Dr. James Green, Professor of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences at University of Colorado, will provide an insider's look at the Hubble Space Telescope's 30 years of cosmic exploration.


[RSVP at the bottom of the page.]



The Hubble space telescope has been vital in advancing our understanding of the universe. We will explore modern cosmology, highlighting the role of HST over its 30 year lifetime.  Professor James Green will provide an insider’s look at the Cosmic Origins Spectrograph which was installed during servicing mission 4 in 2009.  Finally, we will look forward to the new observatories being built to further expand our understanding of the universe.


Professor Green received his B.S. in Physics from Stanford University in 1982 and his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of California, Berkeley in 1989.   He has spent his career designing and building instrumentation for space astronomy applications, and analyzing data from such instruments. He was the Principal Investigator for the Cosmic Origins Spectrograph, which was the final instrument installed in the Hubble Space Telescope in May 2009.   He also designed and built the spectrograph for the Far Ultraviolet Spectroscopic Explorer (FUSE), which launched in 1999.  He has developed several instruments for launch on sub-orbital rockets, and has personally participated in 20 rocket launches as Principal Investigator or project scientist.  He has served as Director of the Center for Astrophysics and Space Astronomy, Chair of the Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences,  and as a member of the NASA Advisory Council Science Committee.  His science interests include observational cosmology, the local interstellar medium and theoretical studies of the earliest moments of the universe.  


The presentation will take place on the Zoom platform. It is free of charge. We will send out videoconference information the day of the event as well as post it here--




If you have questions please contact RMHUC President JK Costello at


7:00PM - 8:30PM Mon 18 May 2020, Mountain timezone



United States of America

[ Get Directions ]

  Enter Waitlist Here...

Please enter your details below and click the 'Add to Waitlist ->' button at the bottom. When tickets become available, you will be notified.
Note: red fields are required.
First Name:
Last Name:
Degree/Year if applicable:
Qty of tickets desired:

Please type the digits shown here into this box:

Look Who's Coming:

JK Costello
Sunhee Hodges
Michael Banks
  Harvard Collge
Joe Gadd
David Ebner
Mark Gerber
  Retired from Ball Aerospace
Joseph Settle
Thomnas Arnold
Curt Freed
  University of Colorado
Edward Maynard
Katherine Kramer
Lisa Purdy
De Lane Bredvik
Duo wang
Ellen Schulz
Edward schultz
joe therrien
Maria Chansky
Paige Sopcic
Broughton Coburn
  Center of Wonder
John Ries
Ross Bagully
Janet Corson-Rikert
Karin Bierstein
Jessica Jackson
Walter Taylor
Laura Gunn
Gabriela Chavarria
Laurence Gold
Barbara Sard
Charles Percival
Charles Percival
Charles McWilliams
Thomas Beresford
  VA Med Ctr/CU Sch of Medicine
Randy Levine
Bruce Geller
Jonathan Glacken
Jovito Huaraya
Andrew Duffy
Kellen Wittkop
Jeff Dumas
Barbara Sard
Barbara Sard
Dallas Schray
  Ball Aerospace
Charles Percival
Jim Magid
  Capital Counsel LLC Needham & Company LLC
peter tovar
Robert Seiden
  PostNet International Franchising Corporation
Arthur Goldberg
Anna Jones
Paul Chessin
Fred Ris
Christie DiNapoli
Randi Cosentino
  US Naval Community College
Lisa Wetstone
Rachel Hampton
  University of Oregon
Joshua Allen
  PostNet International
Barra Peak
  University of Colorado Boulder, Dept. Geological Sciences
Rich Sokol
Rick Walsh
Patrick Stevenson
Margaret Jebsen
Alan G. Gass
Aris Sophocles
Peter Roshko
Beverly Pitts
Jason Peuquet
Donald Cook
Carolyn Sanders
Brad Cowdrey
Orly Ripmaster
  KSL Capital Partners
Nicole Stolpa
David Molnar
Cathie Kelsey
john emerson
  Flying Cloud Health
Fern Seltzer
Eric Kirby
Christina Feller
  Nile Research and Communicatio
Marla Williams
Liz McKinney
Dan Dickson
Charles McWilliams
Linda Plaut
David Rochlin
Edward Likovich
  Nymbl Science
Rod Corlin
Taylor Trelka
  Lake County Schools R-1
Karin Bierstein
Claire Eager
Claire Eager
Sarah Benjes
  Lewis Bess Williams & Weese PC
Stacey Lyne
  Xcel Energy
Isabelle Stillman
Diana Farnsworth
Ethan Yazzie-Mintz
  First Light Education Project
Joseph Settle
RIch Kylberg
Anna Feldman
Patrick Stevenson
John Griffin
Douglas Schofield
  Royal Thimphu College
Stuart Zeiger
  DMNS volunteer
Luciano Lemos-Filho
Cynthia McCallister
Bill Horton
Peter Blake
Don Elliott
  Clarion Assocites
Charles Percival
... a total of 111 guests.
Note: to opt out from this list please sign in, go to My Account and change your preferences under My RSVPs.